Celebrate the spirit of womanhood

All around the world, International Women’s Day represents an opportunity to celebrate the achievements of women while calling for greater equality.

Each year International Women’s Day ( IWD) is celebrated on March 8. The first International Women’s Day was held in 1911. Thousands of events occur to mark the economic, political and social achievements of women. Organisations, governments, charities, educational institutions, women’s groups, corporations and the media celebrate the day.

I have been celebrating this day ever since I turned 14 and became aware of this particular day.This day helps me remember the women in my life who have touched me and brought a positive influence on my thoughts, personality and how I deal with my day- to day- life.Their lives of mystery , love , adventure and above all sacrifice has always been my inspiration.Sometimes when I get lost in the turmoil of life and its unexpected trials and lose hope, I reach to them in my heart and find them within my inner soul and then I am uplifted.Notably ,my grandmother , who I remember meeting just once; my neighbors;my colleague; friend; my father’s childhood friend’s wife and my mother.Each one of them not perfect , but honest, kind, forgiving and sacrificed themselves to give meaning to life.Women clothed in strength and dignity, and give hope without fear of the future.I salute these women in my life because they gave meaning to the spirit of womanhood.

Even today , women have been the achievers in society.Earning , supporting their families and excelling in every field from doctors; surgeons; computer engineers; architects to homemakers.Every era has belonged to us but their is a very sinister question that come to our minds.If we hold the society why are we being oppressed? and for what?. Are we being oppressed for being 95% of the working population or are we oppressed because our religion has given a high pedestal in society?We must ponder. Therefore, in order for us to remember our position we as women must support International Women’s Day in any of the following ways:

– Display the International Women’s Day on your website or blog
– Donate to your favourite womens charity
– Paint It Purple – your website, blog, emails for the day
– Insert the IWD logo in your email signature block for the day
– Make and upload a video

-If you are a teacher, use this as a topic to talk about in your teaching class-girls at a young age must understand their position and role in society.

Run an event celebrating women to raise awareness for gender equality
– Participate in local activities and campaigns
– Paint it purple – your building, canteen, playground, wear purple clothing, purple balloons are the house
– Put the IWD logo as your whatsapp display picture for the day

-Send greeting cards to all your female friends

– Create images or film

Whatever you do – celebrate women, call for equality – and ‘Make it happen’

HAPPY WOMEN’S DAY!!

http://www.internationalwomensday.com

Leave a Reply

