Things That Changed..

Our relationship with our parents are unlike any other.Parents take care of us physically and mentally when we are not able to fend for ourselves and they are an encouragement when nothing seems to be going as planned.Their love is unconditional- beyond bounds…

Nothing can prepare you to lose a parent.It is irreplaceable, I lost my father at a point when our relationship evolved from teacher to friends.My dad was the one person who could see into my soul and could call me out in the most respectful way.He taught me what humanity, empathy and generosity means.He taught me who I am and what I can become. He taught me to forgive.

People say grief runs its course and it comes in stages but doesn’t seem to fully go away.

His death made me physically ill for six months, I literally vomited and ended up in the ER.It has ripped the remainder of our family apart.His friends into shock and sorrow.

The burden was immense, beyond words, but I understand why I was chosen.I was always the stronger one in the family, so for that I am grateful.

It’s like being a widow- in a club? Where you are a member forever…

Everyone says life goes on, but there are times when I still break down like it happened yesterday.Here I sit with all the luxuries that he provided me, excited to reach for the phone to call when he will never pick up the phone.

He lives, within me. His death has forever changed me and how I look at the world. In an odd way it has made me closer to my creator; to be a better daughter, sister and friend.I am always acutely aware of what memories can mean to people around me and how I impact their lives while I am on this earth.It made me realise that now I have given the responsibility to carry on the wishes and moral teachings given by my late father.

Everyone deserves to know how much they are loved and when I am gone, what I teach and instil will be my legacy.

img_7881

My Hero 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

